Totem Tipi Wedding Fair in Helmsley

Another bank holiday has been and gone, don’t you just love this time of year?! I’m actually busy packing as we speak for my husband’s birthday getaway but didn’t want to let another week go by without telling you all about my wonderful trip to the Totem Tipi Fair.

So last Sunday I spent a lovely afternoon in the wonderful Yorkshire town of Helmsley. I haven’t been back since my hen spa day at the Feversham Arms so it was really nice to have a mini throwback moment. If only I had thought about it properly we could have had a cheeky treatment whilst we were there, next time definitely! I really need to make more of an effort to visit Helmsley. It really is well worth the one hour trip from Leeds, such a beautiful little town filled with cute little gift shops, cafes and of course the Walled Gardens.

Helmsley Walled Gardens

My lovely friend and bride to be joined me on a visit to the Totem Tipi Wedding Fair at Helmsley Walled Gardens; these gardens are beautiful and provided just the perfect backdrop for these amazing tipis. Although a little windy, the sun was shining and the colourful tulips were in full bloom.

helmsley-tulips1.jpg

Colourful tulips at Helmsley Walled Gardens

Helmsley Walled Garden Fountains

Tipi weddings are massively on trend and have been for quite some time now. They work perfectly for an outdoor themed wedding and provide the ideal shelter in preparation for the unpredictable weather! Something you always need to factor in when organising a wedding in the UK. They also vary in size so can accommodate pretty much any guest number, be it 50 or 200!

Totem Tipis at Helmsley Wedding Fair

When making our way into the large tipi we were greeted with lots of smiles, a lovely warm welcome and a wonderful glass of fizz from Fusion Event Bars. What could be better?! This is exactly the type of atmosphere you hope for when going to a wedding fair. The bar area was so in keeping with the festival vibe style but also works fabulously for any wedding theme or celebration event. I didn’t sample the cocktails but from what I have seen they look amazing!

Fusion Bar Events at the Totem Tipi Wedding Fair

When walking inside I could instantly smell the most beautiful aroma of sweet scents by Pure Natural Therapy. It gave off a spa like vibe which made me feel really relaxed and wishing I had booked that spa treatment! There was also the sweet sounds of a pianist and composer from the Royal Academy of Music playing throughout the fair. Such a soothing sound to match the calmness of the fair.

pure-natural-therapy.jpg

Looking around it didn’t take long to notice the most breathtaking florals and styling elements from Farm. I was lucky enough to work with Sarah at a previous shoot so it was really lovely to see her and once again be blown away by her fabulous work of luscious greenery, neutral florals and metallic tones. I also noticed a few marble pieces which really caught my eye as this is a popular trend for now and well into 2018 and beyond. I’m also a huge fan of anything marble related! The floral installation suspended from the roof of the tipi was an impressive focal point and a unique idea I hadn’t come across before.

Hanging floral installation from Farm

Marble styling by Farm

In addition to the table styling each setting had the most beautiful stationery, designed by the lovely Gray Starling Designs. Based in Leeds you really need to take a look her stuff, I truly love each and every single one of her designs! I really hope I get to work with Carolyn at some point, what I would give to have her beautiful designs at one of my styled shoots!

Totem Tipi Fair in Helmsley

Gray Starling Designs

Inside the large tipi was a ridiculously cute mini version, designed and styled by the lovely Emily K Weddings. Dressed as a kids corner it really is such a fabulous idea to keep the little ones entertained throughout your wedding day. I just love the rustic and bohemian feel of it, I think you can tell by now that I just love anything with an outdoor and earthy feel!

Mini tipi styled by Emily K Weddings

tipi-styling-by-emily-k-weddings.jpg

Emily also produced some beautiful signage for the fair, including this calligraphy written sign for the mini tipi!

Cool Kids calligraphy sign from Emily K Weddings

Emily isn’t just a stylist; she is also a wedding planner and works with businesses to produce wonderful branding (I am ever so jealous of her talents!). Emily also happened to design my business logo which I LOVE so it was amazing to finally meet her, even though I kind of felt like we were chums already.

The tipi really did look beautiful and even with all the rustic tables set up there was still bags of space ready for an evening of dancing, cocktail drinking and general wedding shenanigans. To say it was quite breezy outside it felt very warm and cosy inside which was nice.

Totem Tipi Wedding Fair in Helmsley

Next we made our way to the smaller tipi that had been styled as a cosy warm lounge area. I really love it when you see these types of areas at a wedding as it is a really lovely offering for your guests to have a bit of a breather away from the music and enjoy the warmth of the fire. I had a similar set up at my own wedding and it went down a treat!

Totem Tipi Wedding Fair

Totem Tipi Wedding Fair

Before saying goodbye and heading off for lunch we were given a fabulous goody bag to take home which was filled with lollipops, keepsakes, leaflets and a tote bag to keep, designed by Totem themselves! With some fairs you can often feel a tad overwhelmed with the variety of suppliers on show so having everything in one bag to refer to when you get home is really useful.

Goodie bag from the Totem Tipi Fair

I can’t finish this post without mentioning the beautiful cakes at the fair, created by a local Helmsley baker, Celebrate Country Cake Design. The cake pop in the goody bag was delicious!

cake-display-by-celebrate-country-cake-design.jpg

On the Saturday there was also a photobooth company called Grin & Share It Photobooth. I have spotted these booths before and they look so trendy! A definite idea to follow on with the rustic theme, check them out and see for yourselves.

Grin & Bare It Photobooth

I also need to mention the amazing lunch we had at the Vine house Cafe in the Walled Gardens. My word it was so scrumptious with lovely staff and lots of quirky features that made our lunch date even more enjoyable.

Helmsley Walled Gardens

Overall it was a fab day out and well worth the trip. My friend who is currently planning her outdoor wedding found it really useful and it was great for me to chat to lots of suppliers and see these wonderful tipis in person.

I have listed the suppliers below, get in touch if you would like to find out more!

Siân xx

Totem Tipi
Farm
Emily K Weddings
Fusion Event Bars
Gray Starling Designs
Pure Natural Therapy
Celebrate Country Cake Design
Grin & Share It Photobooth

 

Leave a Reply

